life has been one thing after another. We had a bit of a scare when my grandfather (who will be 83 next month) had a stroke, and my ex-brother in law called me to let me know what he knew, but no one in my family thought to let me know until I contacted them asking what was up. Grandfather was shipped to the VA hospital 2 hrs away and ended up staying a few days, but most of the stay was to run all the tests they would have made him make the trip for in the next few months, They were ready to release him for the stroke, two days after the stroke occurred, with the expectation of a full recovery, I am so relieved over that.

The kids had the Labor day weekend, My mom came to visit, we ended up going to the zoo, and in general we had a great time, and a great visit. While she was here I took her to the store to buy lottery tickets for the draw she was here for, and while we were there I bought a couple… spent $2.  Now let me explain, I almost never buy lottery tickets, I just don’t think about it, plus, I very rarely stop at convenience stores, unless I am on a trip, plus, added to the fact that I don’t carry cash, I just don’t buy them, I couldn’t tell you the last time I bought a ticket. Anyway… almost 2 weeks later, I am cleaning out my purse and run across the tickets… I go online to check them, and low and behold, I have a $3 winner. I know, I know, $3 is nothing, but hey! I got the money I spent back!

Oldest daughter is selling chocolate as a fund raiser for school, so that her class (the entire 5th grade) can take some field trip later this year, which is fine.. but why sell chocolate now? when the temps easily hit 110 in the afternoons? Why not wait a month or 6 weeks, when the temperatures are cooler and all the snow birds um.. winter visitors, are here and there are that many more people to sell to?

And my two girls have decided they don’t want to share a bedroom anymore, so we ended up sorting out everything in the playroom in to what belongs to who so it can go into the bedrooms, and yesterday we moved furniture. We shall soon see how well the like the new arrangement and who can keep their room clean and who cannot.