I realized something the other day and I thought I’d share it. First, some background.

Because of the field my husband works in it’s a good idea for him to have flu vaccine, despite my personal feelings about the whole thing. Because he’s (part time) military and has no allergies to the ingredients, he’s required to have them. So, for the last 10+ years, he has had a flu shot every fall. The children and I do not get them, for several reasons I won’t go into here.

With the widespread outbreak in the news recently, I realized that despite having the flu shot way back in October, my husband has the flu. No one else in the house has contracted it, but since he’s only spent 2 days at home since he got it (2 weeks ago) that’s not all that surprising.

With more thought I remembered that the last time he had the flu (2009) he was home, not only every evening but he also took several days off because he was coughing so hard he couldn’t breathe. Then, as with this time, no one else in the house (me and three children) became ill.

The whole thing has made me wonder, are vaccines really as wonderful as they’re being made out to be?