As I was drifting off to sleep last night I had a few lines of this pop into my head, I knew that I had to get up and write it down right then, or I would lose it. Half an hour later I had a full page. I got up this morning and have worked on it most of the day, it has been haunting me.

 

I breathe in, I breathe out
You tell me that you’re being deployed
I try not to cry as I ask when you leave.
We smile to you as we wave good bye
Hoping you don’t see the tears in our eyes.

I breathe in, I breathe out
I wake up alone, your pillow cold next to mine
And I wonder if you slept last night.
I fold the laundry, and pack lunches
I send the kids off to school

I breathe in, I breathe out,
I shovel the snow from our drive,
And worry if you’re warm enough.
I write the checks and pay the bills,
I clean the house and fix the drain

I breathe in, I breathe out,
I feed the cat and walk the dog
I wonder just where you’re at.
I lay down in our lonely bed,
And pray I’ll get to see you again

I breathe in, I breathe out,
You’re my first thought as I wake,
And the last before I sleep
I take out the trash,
And repair kid’s bikes

I breathe in, I breathe out
I back a box to ship to you,
Pictures, letters and bits of our life.
I plan the parties and things you’ll miss
And wonder when you’ll come home to us.

I breathe in, I breathe out.
I keep the TV on all night,
But I can’t stand to watch the news
I can’t stop myself from worrying
That’s you may never come home

I breathe in, I breathe out,
The seasons change, the days go by
The kids get older, with you here with us.
Swimming lessons, little league, soccer practice
The things you sacrifice to protect our freedom

I breathe in, I breathe out
The flight is scheduled we have date and time,
We make the trip. We’re standing there when you land.
I hold my breath and wait impatiently
I can’t believe it’s true til I see you with my eyes

I breathe in, I breathe out
There you are, dressed in your uniform
This time I can’t keep the tears off my face
I wait my turn as you hug and hold the kids
Then I hold you tight and thank God you’re home

I breathe in, I breathe out,
I take a deep breath and try not to cry
I swear to make the most of every day
I know this will happen again,
I never know if this time you won’t return.

 

Feel free to share, please post links and give credit, don’t just steal the work.

