ok, I decided I wanted to make oatmeal cookies out of steel cut oats.. Here was my thought process… steel cut oats are much harder,and take much longer to cook.. so I thought, lets soften them some first by soaking them in water… that will work right? um.. no.. first.. the dough turned out gummy… add more flour, now no flavor… add more spices… more flour…some rolled oats for texture… Dough is now the perfect consistency to lay bricks. Because I can’t just throw it out without trying to bake the cookies, I spooned out 12 cookies on to a cookie sheet, topped with chocolate pieces (because I wasn’t wasting the chocolate for an entire batch by mixing it in like I usually do)  and baked…

The kids say they are good… I think they are being way nicer than usual… They each ate two, begged me to make more, so I am baking up the rest of the batch… We will see what Hubster thinks of them.. and no, I won’t be telling him about the brick laying bit… What he doesn’t know, won’t stop him from trying them… me not eating them won’t be abnormal, I am rarely interested in a cookie once it is cooked.

