to me, and I was struck by how true it is, so I thought I would share

A young man in a hot air balloon realizes he is lost. He
lowers his altitude and spots a man fishing from a boat
below. He shouts to him, ‘Excuse me, can you help me?  I
promised a friend I would meet him an hour ago and give him

this balloon as a gift, but I don’t know where I am.’

The man consults his portable GPS and replies,
‘You’re in a hot air balloon, approximately 30 feet
above a ground elevation of 2346 feet above sea level. You
are at 31 degrees, 14.97 minutes north latitude and 100
degrees, 49.0 9 minutes west longitude.

He shakes his head and says, ‘You must have voted for
John McCain!’

‘Yes,’ replies the fisherman. ‘How did you
know?’

‘Well,’ answers the balloonist, ‘everything you
tell me is technically correct, but I have no idea what to
do with your information, and I’m still lost. In fact,

I feel more lost now than I did before I asked you.

The man in the boat smiles and responds, ‘You must have voted for
Obama.’

‘You’re right’ replies the balloonist. ‘How did you
know?’

‘Well,’ he replies, You think just like Obama.  You don’t know where
you are or where you’re going. You’ve risen to where
you are, due to a large quantity of hot air. You made
promises that you have no idea how to keep, and now you expect me

to solve your problem. You’re in exactly the same position you were in

before we met, but somehow, now it’s my fault.’

