and being the grand child of two vets, and the spouse to another, not to mention the numerous friends and other family members who are also Vets, it is a holiday that is close to my heart. So when my 8 year old mentioned this weekend that there was no school on Tuesday, I took the opportunity to make sure she understands what the holiday is about. I asked her if she knew why there is no school today, she said it is Vet’s Day. I continued to question her what exactly it meant, and she said Veterinarian’s Day, but she knew the concept honoring those in our military, she was just getting the words Veteran, and Veterinarian mixed up. We discussed it a little while longer, and I made her understand that we are not just honoring those we know, but all Veterans, and those who died doing the job too. She seemed to grasp the concept, but I foresee having this conversation every year, for several years to come, especially since I have 2 more children who I need to make sure understand…

