I live in a state that has early voting, and, in my opinion, it is one of the better early voting systems around. You request to vote early (I did for primary and general, way back in February) and I recieved my ballot, in the mail, 30 days before election day. It has to be filled out, and either mailed by 7pm on election day, or turned in at a polling place. Unlike some places, where absentee ballots are only counted if it is close, all early voting ballots are counted, partly because there is a much higher voter ‘turnout’ when you don’t have to take time off work to stand in line, or drag a bunch (in my case 3) of small kids with you to stand in line to vote. I would stand in line, if I had to, even with 3 kids, and if I had to take time off work, because I do not believe it is a right to vote, I believe it is my responsibility to vote.

