For the last year, since it was dumped in my lap, every time there was major drama, I was told that we should just close the board, it wasn’t worth the stress, it wasn’t worth the tears, it wasn’t worth what it was doing to me. And every time I would tell who ever was telling me it at the time, that no, I couldn’t do that to my members, to my friends. I had sworn not to just drop it in someones else’s lap, like was done to me, not to just close up with no warning, like I had been told I would eventually do. I stood up and refused to do what I felt would be a disservice to all the members of the board.
Now, a year later, when I have decided that I can’t take it anymore, I am doing my best to create a smooth, well thought out transition so all the members have a place to go and are not lost in the transition, or just dumped. I am giving, not selling and creating an income, or making this place a “cash cow” for myself, everything, including the bank accounts that run this place, to the new owners. And still, nothing I can do is right, I am “flouncing off in a huff” and dumping the board, at least according to some extremely vocal members.
Is it any wonder I can’t take this anymore? if you were on the receiving end of the attacks I have received how would you stand up? Would you have managed to keep it open, and flourishing for the last year when you were told repeatedly that it wasn’t worth it?
I realize that no matter what I do, I can’t please everyone, and there are some, and it appears many at this moment, that no matter what I do, they will find fault, even if I am not involved, it must somehow be my fault. I understand that.
I am trying to continue to make this a smooth transition to the new place, for the members, because after all this, it is more than clear that I am not welcome or wanted at the place, and I won’t be going.

Carry on.

